Terms of Procedure

Published: 11.05.2020

Terms of Procedure
The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award
for an outstanding publication on media and communications

The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award was established to mark the 5th anniversary of the passing of Karol Jakubowicz. The Polish Communication Association and Karol Jakubowicz’ friends have agreed to establish annual editions of the Award. The Award was launched to honor the memory of the outstanding contributions of Karol Jakubowicz as media expert of Poland’s National Broadcasting Council, the Council of Europe, the European Broadcasting Union, UNESCO, and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe. The Award is funded by Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz.

The goal of the Award is to recognize and promote scientific publications that make an original and significant contribution to communications and media, in particular with regard to the role of media in democratic processes and the importance of journalistic ethics.


§ 1

  1. The Award is granted annually by the Selection Committee.
  2. Members of the Committee are: Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz (Honorary Member of the Committee and Funder), Iwona Hofman (Chair of the Committee), Alicja Jaskiernia, Hanna Machińska, Michał Głowacki, Beata Klimkiewicz, Elżbieta Matynia, Halina Rostek, Jerzy Olędzki and the President of the International Association of Public Media Researchers (IAPMR).
  3. The Committee may be expanded by inviting previous recipients of the Award to join. 
  4. The Committee is managed by the Chair.

§ 2

  1. Submissions of publications for the Award are made by members of the Selection Committee, previous Recipients of the Award, the Editor-in-Chef, Executive Editor and Associate Editors of the “Central European Journal of Communication”, as well as members of the Leadership Team of the IAPMR, by the date indicated by the Chair of the Committee on the website of the Polish Communication Association (PCA).
  2. The following scholarly works can be submitted for the Award: monographs, academic studies, research reports or other scholarly works published in the year of the Award itself or in the preceding year, if not previously submitted.
  3. Every person entitled to make a submission may put forward a maximum of two proposals, with justification.
  4. Submission is made via an evaluation form; a template of the evaluation form is attached to the Terms of Procedure.

§ 3

  1. In the first stage the Committee, by a simple majority of votes, nominates up to 6 scholarly works for the Award. The decision is announced as a list of Nominees on the PCA’s website.
  2. In the second stage, the Committee selects the recipient of the Award by a simple majority of votes.
  3. Members who are unable to participate in the meeting of the Selection Committee can send their corresponding votes prior to the meeting of the Committee. These votes are taken into account in the voting procedure.
  4. The prize of the Award is 7,000 PLN and an Award Certificate.
  5. In any given year the Award Committee reserves the right not to grant an Award, or to divide it among multiple recipients.

§ 4

  1. Information about the recipient of the Award along with the justification are announced publicly on April 28th, the day of the passing of Karol Jakubowicz.
  2. Information on the date and place of the award ceremony is announced on the PCA’s website.

§ 5

The Chair of the Committee has the decisive vote in matters under dispute or those which are not covered by the Terms of Procedure.



The template of justification for submitting a scholarly work

  1. Evaluation of the originality and methodological correctness of the publication (max. 250 words).
  2. Evaluation of the publication’s contribution to studies on media, democracy, human rights and the rule of law (max. 250 words). 
  3. Evaluation of the publication’s contribution to society: practical implementation for media and societal awareness (max. 250 words).
  4. Additional comments and recommendations (max. 250 words).





ul. Koszarowa 3,
51-149 Wrocław



ul. Głęboka 45,
20-612 Lublin


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


PKO Bank Polski SA, Oddział 34 we Wrocławiu


IBAN: PL 74 1440 1156 0000 0000 0673 0094





ul. Koszarowa 3,
51-149 Wrocław


do korespondencji

ul. Głęboka 45,
20-612 Lublin


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.