The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award

  • Home
  • The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award
Published: 01.07.2018

Since 2018 the Polish Communication Association has been an institutional partner of the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award. The Award was established in 2018 by Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz; it is granted to outstanding contributions in the areas of scientific interests of Karol Jakubowicz. The goal is to support scholars who contribute to studies on democracy, human rights, policy-making, media ethics and public service media. The Selection Committee for the Award includes Iwona Hofman (President of the Polish Communication Association), Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz (Founder of the Award), Hanna Machińska (Deputy Commissioner for Human Rights, Poland), Alicja Jaskiernia (University of Warsaw), Beata Klimkiewicz (Jagiellonian University), Michał Głowacki (Editor-in-chief of Central European Journal of Communication), Elżbieta Matynia (The New School for Social Research) and Halina Rostek (National Broadcasting Council, Poland).

In 2018 the Award was shared by Maria Nowina Konopka (Jagiellonian University) and Jakub Nowak (Marie Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin). An Award for long-time contributions to the theory and practice of public service media was granted to Christian S. Nissen, international expert and former Director General of Danmarks Radio. In 2019 the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award was shared by Małgorzata Adamik-Szysiak (Marie Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin) and Maria Łoszewska-Ołowska (University of Warsaw).


Zdjecie 1

Photo: Members of the Selection Committee and recipients of the first and the second edition of the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award during the Award ceremonies: conference of the European Media Management Association (Warsaw, June 15, 2018) 

Zdjecie 2

Photo: the 5th Congress of the Polish Communication Association (Warsaw, September 19, 2019). 

Photo by: Paweł Brzeziński, Jarosław Królikowski, Anna Onuszczuk, Anna Zapolska-Downar (Faculty of Journalism, Information and Book Studies, University of Warsaw).

In 2020 the Selection Committee and previous Award recipients nominated for the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award six books – for the first time ever, in a sign of internationalizing of the Award – one book published outside Poland. This is a strategy adopted by the Committee during the meeting at the Bureau of Commissioner for Human Rights in Poland. Nominating books for the next year’s edition will be a joint initiative of Polish and international scholars. The recipient of the Award is announced on April 28, the day of the passing away of Karol Jakubowicz.

Zdjecie 3

Photo: The Selection Committee decides on books nominated for The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award (Warsaw, March 11, 2020).

Photo by: The Office of the Commissioner of Human Rights, Poland.

Authors: Michał Głowacki i Dagmara Sidyk





ul. Koszarowa 3,
51-149 Wrocław


do korespondencji

ul. Głęboka 45,
20-612 Lublin


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.