III Edition (2020)

Published: 11.04.2020

The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award in 2020 was granted to:

2020 Walecka Rynduch   Agnieszka Walecka-Rynduch „MediaEgo w MediaPolis. W stronę nowego paradygmatu komunikowania politycznego” [MediaEgo in MediaPolis. Towards a New Paradigm in Political Communication] (Kraków: Wydawnictwo Naukowe Uniwersytetu Pedagogicznego w Krakowie, 2019) – for a brave attempt to prove the emergence of a new paradigm in political communication and for methodology.


The following books were nominated for the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award in 2020:

2020 M Chacinska    1) Maja Chacińska „W służbie ludu i inżynierii społecznej. Media publiczne w Danii, Norwegii i Szwecji w perspektywie historycznej i kulturowej” [In the Service of People and Social Engineering. Comparative Study on History and Culture of Public Service Media in Denmark, Norway and Sweden] (Gdańsk: Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu  Gdańskiego, 2018) – for an important and timely  analysis of culture and social relations in public service media in the Nordic countries.

2020 Gajlewicz Korab   2) Katarzyna Gajlewicz-Korab „Francuska prasa drukowana. Narodziny, rozwój, era cyfrowa” [Printed Press in France: Beginnings, Developments and the Digital Age] (Warszawa: ASPRA-JR, 2018) – for an in-depth analysis of the subsequent stages of the French printed press development, and for mapping distinctive features and scenarios in the digital age.

2020 Jas Koziarkiewicz   3) Marta Jas-Koziarkiewicz „Euronet Plus. Europejski głos w twoim domu. Radio w procesie europeizacji” [Euranet Plus. The European Voice in Your House. Radio in the Process of Europeanization] (Warszawa: Dom Wydawniczy ELIPSA, 2019) – for an empirical nature of publication and for creating a research tool, a catalog of European values.

2020 Mihejl   4) Sabina Mihejl and Simon Huxtable „From Media Systems to Media Cultures. Understanding Socialist Television” (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018) – for an outstanding theoretical contribution and an important invitation to analyse media systems via the lenses of culture.

2020 Wielopolska Szymura   5) Mirosława Wielopolska-Szymura „Rozgłośnie BBC World Service, Radio France International i Voice of America w komunikowaniu międzynarodowym” [BBC World Service, Radio France International and the Voice of America in International Communication] (Katowice: Wydawnictwo Uniwersytetu Śląskiego, 2019) – for an extended analysis of international radio stations, and for showing historical mechanisms of radio propaganda.

The award ceremony took place on July 15, 2020, at the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights.

Photo: Agnieszka Walecka-Rynduch is collecting the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award in 2021.

Photo: Participants of the award ceremony in 2021 (from left to right): Dagmara Sidyk (University of Warsaw), Janusz W. Adamowski (University of Warsaw), Halina Rostek (National Broadcasting Council), Mirosława Wielopolska-Szymura (University of Silesia in Katowice), Katarzyna Gajlewicz-Korab (University of Warsaw), Iwona Hofman (Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin, Polish Communication Association), Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz (Founder of the Award), Hanna Machińska (Deputy Commissioner for Human Rights), Agnieszka Walecka-Rynduch (The Pedagogical University of Cracow), Michał Głowacki (University of Warsaw, Editor-in-chief of "Central European Journal of Communication"), Maria Łoszewska-Ołowska (University of Warsaw).

Photos by: Dagmara Derda (the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights)





ul. Koszarowa 3,
51-149 Wrocław


do korespondencji

ul. Głęboka 45,
20-612 Lublin


This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.