IV Edition (2021)

Published: 03.02.2021

Welcome to the 4th Edition of "The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award"!


From this year’s edition, submitting a scholarly work for the Award requires filling in the online form which evaluates:
1) the originality and methodological correctness,
2) contribution to media and democracy studies, and
3) the potential of practical implementation to media practice and societal awareness.
Additional recommendations and comments are welcome!

The online submission form is available to members of the Selection Committee, Editors of “Central European Journal of Communication” (Editor-in-Chief, Executive Editor and Associate Editors), the Leadership team of the International Association of Public Service Media Researchers as well as previous Awards winners. Each person may suggest max. 2 publications from a wide range of media and democracy disciplines; Central and Eastern Europe and beyond. We wait for recommendations of books, articles, research reports or related media policy documentation on democracy, human rights, media ethics, media policy and public service media – scholarly works published in 2020 and 2021. 

Submission of proposals are due March 31, 2021. The Selection Committee will further nominate up to 6 publications for this year's edition. The Award winner will be announced by the Committee on April 28 – a day of passing of Karol Jakubowicz.

Cover image by: Maja Sosnowska

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.