In accordance to its Statute, the Polish Communication Association may provide the awards in the form of honorary membership for outstanding scientific achievements and contribution to the promotion and development of research in the field of communication and media. So far honorary memberships of the Polish Communication Association have been awarded to prof. Walery Pisarek – senior Polish media researcher, prof. Wolfgang Donsbach and prof. Wayne Wanta – advocates for the development of Polish media studies abroad as well as prof. Jerzy Mikułowski Pomorski and prof. Tomasz Goban-Klas.

In 2011, the Executive Committee of the Polish Communication Association granted the honorary membership to dr. Karol Jakubowicz for his contribution to the development of media and communication studies in Poland and abroad. The ceremony will take place 22 September 2011 during the international conference “Political Communication in the Era of New Technologies”, to be held at the University of Warsaw.


Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2008

Prof. Walery Pisarek is one of the first scholar interested in the research on media and communication in Poland. He is the author of numerous publications emphasizing the history of the Polish language, journalism theory and mass communication. He worked at the Jagiellonian University in Cracow. In the period of 1969-2000 he served as director of the Centre for the Research on Press in Cracow. He was the first president of the Polish Language Council.

Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2008

Prof. Wolfgang Donsbach is a professor of communication at the Department of Communication at Dresden University of Technology, Germany, of which he also has been the founding director. He received his PhD and his postdoctoral dissertation at the University of Mainz. Prior to his current position he taught at the universities in Dortmund, Mainz, and Berlin. From 1995 to 1996 he was President of the World Association for Public Opinion Research (WAPOR) and from 2004 to 2005 President of the International Communication Association (ICA). He has been managing editor of the “International Journal of Public Opinion Research”. He is general editor of the “International Encyclopedia of Communication”.

Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2008

Prof. Jerzy Mikułowski Pomorski is a sociologist and media expert in the field of sociology of culture, international relations and intercultural communication. In the 1970s he was the head of the Division of International Economic Organizations at the Economic University in Cracow. He then was deputy director of the Institute for International Socio-Economic Affairs, Head of the Department of European Studies as the rector of the Economic University in Cracow. He also worked at the Silesian University in Katowice as well as at the School of Social Sciences.

Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2010

Prof. Wayne Wanta holds the Welch-Bridgewater chair in the School of Journalism and Broadcasting at Oklahoma State University (USA). He has authored and co-authored four books and more than 150 refereed journal articles and convention papers, many dealing with the agenda-setting function of the news media. He is also the past president of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2010

Prof. Tomasz Goban-Klas is a media in the field of public opinion research, communication, sociology of culture as well as mass communication theory. He graduated from the Jagiellonian University. He then worked at the Institute of Philosophy and Sociology at the Polish Academy of Sciences and further served as scientific secretary of the Centre for the Research on Press in Cracow. In the early 1990s he was a professor at the Institute of European Studies in Vienna. In 1992-1996 he was vice-president of the Journalists` Association of the Republic of Poland (SDRP).

Członkostwo honorowe22 September 2011

Dr. Karol Jakubowicz is a media expert on electronic media at the Council of Europe, the European Union, the European Broadcasting Union and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe. He has been Chairman of the Intergovernmental Council of the UNESCO Information for All Programme and a member of the Independent Media Commission in Kosovo. In 2005-2006 he was Chairman of the Steering Committee on the Media and New Communication Services at the Council of Europe. He has worked in academia, in the media industry and in the National Broadcasting Council of Poland. His publications on media and communication studies have been published in Poland and internationally.

Członkostwo honorowe15 September 2012

Prof. Wiktor Pepliński is professor of media studies. He is interested in history of media and changes since 1989 in Poland. He is the author of many books and articles, some of them are dedicated to the press in the nord Polish region Kaszuby. He has been a member of many expert team worked over the standards of journalistic studies in Poland and Polish Accreditation Commission. He is a member of editorial board of several communication and media academic journals in Poland.

prof. Curry członek honorowy PTKS12 June 2014

Prof. Jane Leftwich Curry is professor of political science at Santa Clara University in California, USA. She visited Poland for the first time in the 1960s. After that she often returned there. She has published a lot of books, seven monographs and about 40 articles and chapters. She has been the editor or co-editor of more than twelve collective books. Above all, books such as Central and East European Politics: From Communism to Democracy (Roman and Littlefield, 2007), Poland?s Journalists: Professionalism and Politics (Cambridge University Press, 1990) and The Black Book of Polish Censorship (Random House and Vintage Press, 1984) are very important and fundamental for understanding the process which took place in communist regimes in Central and Eastern Europe and in the post-communist period.

prof-oledzki-honorowy-201616 September 2016

Prof. dr hab. Jerzy Olędzki is professor of the University of Warsaw, and the University of Stefan Wyszynski. He was a visiting professor at Ohio University (USA). He is the author of publications related to public relations. He is a member of many editorial boards of academic journals. He was a co-founder of PCA and a member of Executive Committee of PCA in the period of 2010-2013.


©2020 PTKS. All Rights Reserved.

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.